Provider Awards

Compassion. Talent. Excellence.

Our Congratulations

We are proud of our providers’ accomplishments and admire their dedication to advancing the health and wellness of local residents.

In addition to leading busy professional and personal lives, we acknowledge their efforts in helping improve care throughout our health care system and within our communities.

While the healthcare provider awards listed below vary, they demonstrate each provider’s commitment to their profession. With appreciation, we honor each of them for their perseverance, skill, and expertise.


Cooley Dickinson Medical Staff Awards
Left to Right: C; R. F. Conway, MD, President, Medical Staff. Emily Baecher, PA-C, Estevan Garcia, MD, Chief Medical Officer.


Doctors at Cooley Dickinson are supported and encouraged to excel. The Physician Excellence Award is awarded to the Cooley Dickinson provider who has achieved significant improvement in clinical outcomes.

2018– Adam Lau, MD, Inpatient Behavioral Health

2017 – Geoffrey Zucker, MD, Gastroeterology

2016 – Wayne Hioe, MD, Hospitalist Medicine

2015 – Holly Michaelson, MD, General Surgery

The Medical Staff Teamwork Award is given to the physician who demonstrates a highly developed ability to bring teams of clinicians together to improve patient care.

2015 – Helena McCracken, MD, Hospitalist Medicine

The Advanced Practice Clinician Excellence Award is given to those who demonstrate a strong ability to work with physicians and hospital staff to create quality outcomes and improve care.

2018 – Emily Baecher, PA-C, Critical Care

2017 – James Bartus, PA, Emergency Medicine

2016 – Jennifer Lesperance, NP, Hospitalist Medicine

2015 – Matthew Lawrence, NP, Critical Care Medicine


Massachusetts Medical SocietyMassachusetts Medical Society – Community Clinician of the Year Award

Although we have several healthcare provider awards, the Community Clinician of the Year award recognizes providers who have made “significant contributions to patients AND the community.” Listed below are recipients of the Hampshire District Medical Society Community Clinician of the Year Award:

Marianna Marguglio, MD
William Swiggard, MD
Robert M. Abrams, MD
Katherine J. Atkinson, MD
Deborah E. Smith, MD
Theodore K. Selkirk, Jr., MD
Paul S. Baecher, MD
Geoffrey M. Zucker, MD

For the complete list of recipients or to learn more about the Massachusetts Medical Society, visit their website.

William E. Dwyer Award

The William E. Dwyer Award for Distinguished Community Service is awarded annually to an individual who demonstrates loyalty, leadership, and dedication to improving the health of the community.

2018 – Sanford Belden
2015 – Geoffrey M. Zucker, MD

Paragon Awards

AIDS red ribbon logo, Cooley Dickinson Medical Group A Positive Place, Northampton, MA 01060.

The Paragon Awards celebrate those who have gone above and beyond in making significant and lasting contributions in the fight against HIV/AIDS in the Pioneer Valley. The awards were given on behalf of A Positive Place.


Joanne Levin, MD, Medical Director, Infection Prevention at Cooley Dickinson Health Care; Board Certified Infectious Disease Consultant
Joanne Levin, MD
William Swiggard, MD, PhD, Infectious Disease Specialist, Cooley Dickinson Medical Group Infectious Diseases
William Swiggard, MD
Partners in Excellence Awards

The Partners in Excellence Awards are given annually to recognize employees for their outstanding contributions to Partner HealthCare’s mission.


James Most, MD, Hospitalist Medicine

Annemarie Heath, CNM, Medical Director for Midwifery

Robert Weitzman, MD, Family Practitioner, Cooley Dickinson Medical Center Hadley Family Medicine, Hadley, MA 01035
Robert Weitzman, MD


Chalice Santorelli, NP, Northampton Family Medicine


Cooley Dickinson is also proud of the awards, accreditations and accolades it has received from these national and regional medical, civic and community organizations.


Contact us about your career at
Cooley Dickinson Health Care: